Reviews for Speaks to the Trees

BY : draylon


  • From ANON - AntiDolorifico on May 05, 2015

    Now, as chemistry finals have dissipated a little from my brain, I wanted to add a few bits in addition to my recent review of Azof and the Farmer's Wife. I re-read this story, and I wanted to let you know that it makes me smile. My favorite chapter is Wood Chat. It's just positively hilarious, sweet, and utterly Orcish all at the same time.

    First, the idea of Rukush having himself a Gypsy girl just opens a full spectrum of interesting Orcish possibilities, does it not? Should you feel so inclined someday.... one would be very interested in reading about that. =D

    Azof, in this story, already seems sweetly jealous and possessive of Julienne, seemingly evidenced by his reaction when Maz asks to tag along for some "Peeping-Tom-Foolery" (I LOVE that word!). It really fits perfectly with Azof and Julienne's storyline.

    And as usual, I have to tell you how much I adore reading their Orcish conversations and the accompanying accents that you so kindly provide for us. With them, I can almost hear them speaking; this strange mix of heavy-accented Orcish rambling with slightly more academic words sprinkled throughout. It's like these poor Orcs have remembered to think for themselves once more, since the dark powers, so to speak, have fallen. I love it. It always makes me smile and even giggle when I read things such as "tarkish h’infrastructure", or "‘anging about wiv royalty, an’ h’ain’t we gettin’ verbose!" (Like Azof's one to talk, there!)

    I also think it's quite interesting and lovely when it comes to the voice that some of the orcs are hearing. It is Yavanna, is it not? I figured that perhaps this was your way of hinting at the beginnings of Orckind; that they are not so different from Elves, once that Mordorian veil has lifted. Whatever the case may be, I think it's wonderful and strangely touching, that she should speak to these creatures that are widely considered monsters in this universe.

    As usual, I ramble like some drunk, but there you have it. =)

    Report Review


  • From ANON - The Lauderdale on August 31, 2014

    "*not surprisingly, Tolkien did address this specific point, but seems to have reckoned something along the lines of – ‘the vegetation of Ithilien / Gondor wouldn’t have “minded” being cut down and used in building by the Men of the West, because what they were doing was well-intentioned.’"

    As witness by the fact that Fangorn has such a GOOD attitude about everyone. I'm with you, what a load of nonsense. Anyway, I probably reviewed this chapter 4, but I was just in the mood to come back and read some luxuriating prose about foliage.

    Report Review


  • From ANON - The Lauderdale on January 01, 2012

    These two cater so beautifully to my weird liking for awkward sex scenes. While it is cool and different to read an m/m pairing that mostly involves non-penetrative sex (Shagrat and Faramir's love-life generally consisting of mutual masturbation, oral, and frottage, with a some cuddling into the mix), this was a neat chapter to read. Largely because we recognize what a really big thing it is that Shagrat is doing, making his offer to Faramir. And when it actually works - that is to say, when Shagrat actually finds that there is pleasure in it, for HIM - it is gratifying to witness his responses, and then terrifically entertaining when he "grabs hold of the situation," as it were.

    “Suck on your own filthy fingers!” must be my favorite line from the whole chapter.

    As much as I love Shagrat, it is Faramir that I found myself identifying with in this scene. Of course he is the POV character for it, but I mean that I love his focus on "the duff bits" at the beginning, and his spluttering outrage later, when Shagrat so rudely and effectively puts his impending orgasm on standby...and I love his delight at the end, when he and Shagrat make their last discovery. Faramir hasn't always been the greatest lover to Shagrat (not entirely his fault, because Shagrat has never been the best communicator), but he really does try his best, and his pleasure at the end is such an honest, selfless one, I just really liked it.

    An odd question struck me as I was looking back over the reviews - does Shagrat still have Ludlow's lucky rabbit foot? I just hate to think of him losing it, in and around all the mad dashing, harrowing water sports, and latest sexual liaison with The Boyfriend.

    Report Review


  • From FleshDust on August 21, 2011

    Forgot to add - why can't I have an orc engaging in peeping-Tom-foolery in my yard? =(

    Report Review


  • From FleshDust on August 21, 2011

    How lovely to see you're back! And up to your orcish antics again, though do not take this as a complaint. You know that I fancy it so. You know, your writing is beyond pleasant to read, you employ a style that I've never seen before, especially not on AFF. If you're not published, you need to be. Though I'm not sure said publication would fare well if it were orc romance... ah hell, who are we kidding, I'd buy it in a heartbeat. I'm serious though, your writing is better than hundreds of published writers that I've read.

    And also, "Queen Fairy-mir" made me laugh out loud, effectively scaring the hell out of my cat.

    Report Review


  • From ANON - The Lauderdale on August 20, 2011

    This is a scene I've been waiting to read for some time, actually: the moment when Faramir, in his role as Steward, must talk with Aragorn about Shagrat. I like how you made Elessar's terms both credible, basing it on logic and the precedent of Umbar, and limited, with the reminder that the terms could be withdrawn at any time.

    ...Heh. Covert underground assignment. He's a regular international man of mystery, our Faramir.

    Report Review


  • From ANON - The Lauderdale on August 20, 2011

    Ah. Another story, and they've still got matters to resolve. Which only makes sense, really. I liked that, though. “Was that you trying - horse-whispering - on me?”

    Report Review


  • From ANON - The Lauderdale on August 20, 2011

    "Standing there remembering all of this in the haunted wood, clinging to Ludlow’s rabbit foot as if his life depended on it, Shagrat - who as far as he knew, didn’t have an ounce of whimsy in him - couldn’t think of a single reason why he might having deluded himself into thinking he was friends with an imaginary – and slightly fussy - Hobbit. Which meant – and he felt a physical release of tension at the prospect – that he was safe for the moment after all."

    They're roomies! Oh, I am so happy at the moment. Ludlow is a great character and, though I know you mentioned him in the earlier chapter, I was wondering just how he fit into Shagrat's current life. Also liked (although perhaps "liked" isn't the right word. Appreciated, then) the incorporation of Shagrat's continuing PTSD, which only makes sense since he's never really received any help for it. He carries some godawful memories, and that's a terrifying way to live one's life, never being quite sure what is real and what is being imagined or remembered.

    Report Review


  • From ANON - The Lauderdale on August 20, 2011

    "We. Is. Orcs!Seein’ trees and liking plants? Everybody knows we shouldn’t have no truck with that, because we don’t go in for – all that namby-pamby sort of thing!”
    “Maybe we ‘ave just been – mis-h’informed - about what we does and doesn’t like.”

    Can't believe this has been here for a month without me knowing about it! I have been reading and laughing at these first two chapters since I discovered this story two days ago. Circumstances kept me from getting any further, but that's okay. Now I can sit down and enjoy it.

    On a side note, my fundamental Americanism is holding me back in life. I didn't know what "kecks" were and my brain didn't focus on it at the time - I think I assumed it was a knapsack - so it wasn't till the second chapter that I realized Maz had been trouser-less. Glad that he and Rukush and Azof are still hanging around (though where else would they go, Lauderdale?) and driving Shagrat nuts.

    The idea that the Orcs are discovering growing things, finding their "favorite tree," and hearing the voice of Yavanna in their heads is just awesome. It's the sort of thing that I would probably find unforgivably gooey in other hands, but seeing as how they speak about it all in such characteristically Orkish fashion, which resistance and profanity and bitching about fungus, I just found it utterly hilarious and believable.

    Okay. Now I am ready to read more.

    Report Review


  • From ANON - Moniquill on August 14, 2011

    I've been following this series since the very beginning, and I just wanted to thank you so much for choosing to continue it. Wonderful, as always.

    Report Review